Beauty Bound

Image

 The child inside cries out

from a beautified taped shell

Do you see me?

Do you love me?

Do I matter?

Her exuberant uninhibited beauty bound

like a straight jacket.

Holding in.  Holding Back.  Holding Self.

Do you see me?

Do you love me?

Do I matter?

Losing her innocence in the loss of a dream;

A dream of unconditioned love and acceptance.

Pain passed down like sour candy-

enamored with the promise of it casing.

Bitter

To

Swallow.

The residue remaining in our mouths.

Do you see me?

Do you love me?

Do I matter?

No amount of makeup, drugs or exercise

can Cover the Girl,

an insufficient Band-Aid to this cultural

gaping wound.

Women – shrinking in their beauty and power

by remaining a painted shadow of soul.

Do you see me?

Do you love me?

Do I matter?

Image

Leave a Reply

